Otázka: Other English-speaking countries

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): zdvorak

Australia (Commonwealth of Australia)

1.basic facts

- Australia is located in the Southern Hemisphere
- country comprises the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands in the Indian and Pacific Oceans
- capital Canberra
- biggest **Sydney**
- population: about 25 mil.
- area: 7,7 mil. km2
- language: English
- flag: consists of Union Flag (Jack) Southern Cross constellation Commonwealth Star
- currency Australian dollar
- anthem Advance Australia Fair
- original inhabitants Aborigines

2. political system

- constitutional monarchy
- form federal parliamentary democracy
- independence on the 1 st January 1901
- part of commonwealth

| Other English-speaking countries

- monarch Queen Elizabeth II.
- represented by Governor-general David Hurley
- 2 houses of parliament
 - the senate
 - House of Representatives
- 6 states + 2 territories
 - each state- federal goverment
- 2 Territories
 - Australian Capital Territory (ACT)- Canberra
 - Northern territory- Darwin
- James Cook claimed Australia for Britain in 1770
 - during 18 century Australia served for prison

3. geography

- smallest continent 6th biggest country by area
- surrounded by Indian and Pacific Ocean
- along the east coast Great Barrier Reef the biggest coral reef on the Earth
- most of people live in big towns along the east coast
- the central parts are mostly deserts
- dry and hot climate
- highest point Kosciusko (about 2,000 metres high).
- longest river Murray, Darling
- Uluru, also known as Ayers Rock

New Zealand

1. basic facts

- two islands in South Pacific
- 1600 km far from Australia
- original inhabitants Maori
- population: 5 mil.
- capital Wellington

| Other English-speaking countries

- biggest Auckland
 - population 1,3 million
- 88% of people live in cities
- official languages: English and Maori
- the flag Union Jack + 4 stars (southern cross)
- currency NZ dollar
- national symbol **bird kiwi** (Kiwis)

2. political system

- part of Commonwealth
- constitutional monarchy parliamentary democracy
- the head Queen Elizabeth II.
 - her representative Governor-General –
- head of government prime minister Jacinda Ardern
- parliament 1 house House of Representatives

3. geography

- 2 main islands The North Island and South Island + several smaller islands
- North island
 - volcanoes, hot springs, subtropical climate
- South Island
 - larger than North Island, more mountainous, only ¼ of country population
- separated by Cook Strait
- highest mt. Cook (3700m) South I.
- longest river Waikato (North I.)
- endemits:
 - a kiwi flightless nocturnal bird, symbol of a country
 - a kea a parrot in the mountains, destroys everything
 - a moa flightless bird, has been hunted to extinction
- NZ suffers a lot from earthquakes
- more sheep than people