Otázka: Political system of the Czech Republic

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): Klára Č.

CZECH REPUBLIC:

• sovereign, united and democratic state

GOVERNMENT / 3 POWERS THAT RUN THE STATE

- 1. The legislative power Parliament
- 2. The executive power President, Government
- 3. The judicial power courts at various levels

THE PARLIAMENT

4. THE CHAMBER OF DEPUTIES

- 200 deputies
- Election every 4 years
- Lower chamber
- Deputy must be older than 21 and be a citizen

5. THE SENATE

- 81 senators
- Election every 2 years but every senator is elected for 6 years
- During election only 1 third is renewed
- Senator must be older than 40 and be a citizen

MAIN TASK

- Passing laws
- · Ratify international treaties

THE GOVERNMNET

- CONSISTS OF: the PRIME MINISTER + ministers
- Responsible to the Chamber of Deputies
- MAIN TASK: suggesting laws
- PRIME MINISTER:
 - Appointed by president
 - Usually a leader of the party which won the elections
 - Andrej Babiš
- MINISTERS:
 - Appointed by president on the proposal of the prime minister
 - Ministers of: Foreign affairs, Defence, Justice, Finances, Culture, Education...

THE PRESIDENT

- Elected every 5 years
- Elected by people
- Can be elected just for 2 terms in the row
- MAIN TASKS:
 - Appoints judges, ministers, professors, ambassadors...
 - Has the power of veto
 - Can declare an amnesty
 - Can grant a pardon to a convinced person
 - Mainly just a representant of our country

JUDICIAL POWER

- Courts at various levels
- Most important: CONSTITUTIONAL COURT + SUPREME COURT
- Down to regional courts
- MAIN TASK: deciding if people are following laws, punishing them if they don't

OFFICIAL SYMBOLS OF THE CZECH REPUBLIC

1. NATIONAL ANTHEM

- Where is my homeland?
- Text: Kajetán Tyl, music: František Šroup
- 2. OFFICIAL TRICOLOR
- 3. NATIONAL FLAG
- 4. FLAG OF PRESIDENT
- 5. **OFFICIAL SEAL**
- 6. COAT OF ARMS
 - Eagles of Moravia and Silesia
 - Lions Czech lands
- 7. SMALL COAT OF ARMS

POLITICAL PARTIES

- Parties are divided to left parties and right parties
- We can also divide them to conservative and liberal parties
- Right in the middle of left and right are moderate parties like KDU-ČSL which is Christian party
- Far left party is communist party

SUMMARY

- CZECH REPUBLIC: sovereign, united and democratic state
 - 1. The legislative power Parliament
 - 2. The executive power President, Government
 - 3. The judicial power courts at various levels

PARLIAMENT

- 1. **Chamber of deputies** / 2 years / 200 deputies / lower chamber / express trust? to g.
- The Senate / 6 years (1/3 renewed every 2 years) / 81 senators / higher chamber
 - Main task: Passing/making laws

GOVERMNEMENT

- Prime minister (premier) + ministers
- Appointed by president
- Ministers of: Foreign affairs, Defence, Justice, Finances, Culture, Education...
- MAIN TASK: suggesting laws
- THE PRESIDENT / 5 years / elected by people / max 2 terms in a row / appoints officials / power of veto / declaring amnesty / represents the country
- JUDICIAL POWER / supreme court and constitutional court / courts at various levels / MAIN TASK: deciding if people are following laws, punishing them if they don't
- **OFFICIAL SYMBOLS** / national anthem / national flag /flag of president / official seal / official tricolor / coat of arms / small coat of arms