Otázka: The political sytem of Great Britain

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): Michaela

Great Britain - political system

Democracy governed within the framework of **constitutional monarchy**

- This means that the official head of state is the monarch, but his or her powers are limited by the constitution
- The British system of government is the oldest parliamentary democracy in Europe

Britain is the member of nearly all important international organisations – UN,EU, NATO and OECD

Branches of political system

- executive the government
- legislative Parliament and the Queen
- judicial the courts

Official Head of State is the Queen Elizabeth II.

- She had four descendants Charles Prince of Wales, Andrew, Edward and Anne
- husband Duke of Edinburgh and a sister Margaret
- The heir of the throne is William
- became Oueen in 1952
- can only reign with a support of Parliament symbolic head

- regular meetings with the Prime minister and she is informed about Cabinet decisions
- seat in Buckingham Palace, Windsor castle weekend house+state visites
- the **Head of Commonwealth** (a group of former and present-day British colonies)

Duties

- - to represent state
- -performs social and ceremonial functions
- - appoint all the Ministers, including the Prime Minister and judges
- - visiting foreign countries
- - holding receptions, recieves diplomats
- -declares war and peace
- ratifies and makes treaties
- -confer honours
- summons, prorogues and dissolves Parliament
- grants or refuses Royal assent to bills

Powers

- -head of the executive and judiciary
- head of the Church of England
- · command-in-chief of all armed forces

Ceremonies

- - State opening every year opens a parl.session in May
- queen's speech from the Throne in the House of Lords
- -Garter service
- -Trooping the colour on official Queen's birthday

the Parliament

- the supreme law-making body in the country
- seat in Westminster Palace
- two chambers the House of Lords and the House of Commons
- functions
 - -law-making
 - -proposals for new bills (laws)
 - -life of the Parliament two sessions
 - -each session lasts a year
 - final session terminated by dissolution

 All the pariliamentary proceedings are public, they are broadcasted on TV or radio

House of Lords

- -older formed in 11th century
- -members are **not elected**, appointed by the Queen, about 1200
- -members consist of hereditary peers, life peers(Lords Temporal), 24 bishops and 2 archbishops (Lords Spiritual)
- - hereditary peers inherit their post from generation to generation
- - life peers become peers when they do something important for the state
- -not involved in matters of taxation and finance
- -lord Speaker attends and speaks at ceremonial occasions
- - The leader is called **Lord Chancellor**

House of Commons

- -originated in 13th century
- - contains 650 members They are **elected** every 5 years
- - each MP represents a definite part of a county
- Eighteen is the minimum voting age; candidates for election must be over 21
- New bills are introduced and debated law making authority
- - A **bill (a proposal of a new law**) must pass through the Houses and then is sent to the Queen for Royal Assent
- -the speaker
 - -elected
 - - The chief of the House
 - - maintains order in the House

The executive

- - political **parties** Conservative and Labour, liberal democrats
- - The party, which wins the majority of seats, forms the Government and its leader

is appointed by the Queen as the **Prime Minister**

- - head of the Government
- -re-elected every 5 years
- · -selects all remaining ministers
- - David Cameron conservative party
- Cabinet is the executive organ of government and meets weekly at 10 Downing street (where all the British Prime Ministers have lived) to decide on major government questions
- - The second party becomes Opposition and forms the Shadow-Cabinet

The judiciary

- -indepent of the executive and the legislative
- -Supreme court of the UK

The United Kingdom constitution is unwritten

- - based on agreement, tradition and common law.
- - set of laws, traditions and customs

British national flag is called "Union Jack"

- symbolises the Union of England, Scotland and Ireland
- - dates back from 1801
- The flag is made up of the crosses of the patron saints of England, Ireland and Scotland

National **anthem** is "God Save The Queen"



representative = představitel