Otázka: The UK political system

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): Leonardo

THE UK POLITICAL SYSTEM

- It is parliamentary and constitutional monarchy
- It is democracy, in which the country is governed by representatives of the people, Parliament, but the official head of state is **the sovereign**
- **The rules** which govern the political system are not be found in any single constitutional document. Many of them are customs or conventions. The whole system is very adaptable.
- The constitution is made up of:
 - statue law(acts of Parliament)
 - common law(law of precedent)
 - conventions(Europian legislation)
- Political power is divided into three branches: legislative, executive, judicial.

Chief Govermental institutions

- Parliament- chief of legislative body
- Central Goverment- represents executive power
- Law Courts- Judicial power

Legislative branch

The Parliament

- the supreme legislative authority, legislative branch
- consists of two Houses: 1)The House of Lords and 2)the House of Commons(lidu)
- The U.K is a unitary state. All four countries of the UK are represented in the Parliament at Westminster in London.

1)The House of Lords

- it is a relic
- consists of :
 - **the Lords Spiritual:** the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York and 24 senior bishops
 - the Lords Temporal: hereditary peers, 300 life peers , 20 law lords,

Lords of APPEAL.

2)The House of Commons

- consists of 650 salaried members
- elected for 5 years
- each member represents a constituency the chairman of the House of Common is the Speaker, who is elected at the ..beginning of each new Parliamentary session by the Members of Parliament.
- chief officer: Speaker
- Main fuctions :are debating, passing laws and examining the actions of the Goverment.

The Executive branch

The British Goverment

- is the supreme executive authority, the executive branch
- consist of the Prime Minister, who is leader of the Govermen party and other ministers.
- The Goverment is answerable to Parliament.
- consist of over 80 members
- executive power is in the hands of the Cabinet, a group of about 20 ministers, chosen by the Prime Minister from the members of his party.
- The Prime Minister lives and works at his official residence at No. 10 Downing Street.

The Sovereign- The Queen

- is the formal head of the UK and the Commonwealth (britské společenství národů) the armed forces, the system of justice, and of the Anglican Church.
- The Queen formally summons) Parliament and has also the right to dissolve(rozpustit)it, signs laws.
- She opens the sessions of Parliament in the House of Lords..etc
- The present sovereign is Elisabeth II. The Queen has four children: Charles, Anne, Andrew, Edward.

The Judicial branch

• is headed by **the Highest court** made up of 10 law lords, who are members of the House of Lords.

Political parties (2 party system)

• The Conservative Party - it is right of centre

- The Labour Party- it is left of centre
- The Liberal democratic party