Australia, New Zealand – Geography, basic facts



  Otázka: Australia, New Zealand – Geography, basic facts

  Jazyk: Angličtina

  Přidal(a): Sagitt




  • 6th biggest country in the world
  • Smallest continent in the world
  • 6th British colony
  • 25 million people
  • Divided to 7 territories (North, Western, Central, South, Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria)
  • Capital city: Canberra (very young city)
  • Other cities:
    • Sydney – capital of New South Wales, industrial city,
    • Melbourne – capital of Victoria, world´s most liveable city
    • Brisbane – capital of Queensland, year-round vocation place
    • Adelaide – capital of South Australia, pretty and industrial city
    • Perth – capital of Western Australia, the best climates
    • Hobart – capital of island-state Tasmania, winters are very cold
  • National symbols: Kangaroo and Emu



  • Australia is situated south of Asia, between the Pacific and the Indian Oceans.
  • It is a continent, a country, and an island at the same time.
  • Located in the southern hemisphere.



  • Several different climates zone
    • North – tropical hot and humid in summer, warm and dry in winter
    • Southern – cooler mild summer and cool sometimes rainy winter


Political system:

  • Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
  • Monarch (represented by governor-general – David Hurley), the Senate (prime minister Scott Morrison) and House of Representatives


Place to visit:

  • Great Barrier Reef Marine Park – world largest coral reef
    • It stretches along the east coast of Queensland
  • Uluru-Kata – one of the most photographed natural wonders in the country, for Anangu people “shadowy place”
  • Melbourne – Royal Botanic Gardens, Federation Square, the National Gallery of Victoria and the Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Daintree National Park – the most ancient ecosystem on Earth, belong to the Eastern Kuku Yalanji Aboriginal people (hold great spiritual significance)


New Zealand

  • “Kiwi state”
  • In the top of 10 safest countries
  • 4,8 million people
  • Official language: English, Maori, sign
  • Sheep
  • Capital city: Wellington – also southernmost capital city in the world
  • Other cities:
    • Auckland – largest city, “the city of sails” (it has more boats than any other place in the world)
    • Hamilton, Queenstown, Palmerston North, Christchurch
  • NZ was the first state that allowed women can vote (1893)
  • National symbols: A flightless bird called Kiwi



  • Located in the South Pacific Ocean, near the centre of water hemisphere
  • Two main landmasses:
    • North Island → volcanism
    • South Island → Southern Alps
    • And about 600 other smaller islands
    • Renowned for its world-class hiking trails



  • Weather can change unexpectedly regardless of the time of year
  • Summer in NZ – from December to February



  • Lake Taupō – NZ´s largest lake. (+ largest in North island)
  • Lake Te Anau – largest lake in the South Island
  • Lake Wakatiipu – longest lake in NZ (80 m)
  • Waikato – North longest river
  • Clutha/Matau – South longest river


Political system:

  • Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
  • Elizabet II., governor general: (Patsy Reddy), prime minister (Jacinda Ardern)


Places to visit:

  • Auckland – museums (Auckland Art Gallery, Auckland Domain park, Parnell Farmers´s Market)
  • Hamilton – place where is built hobbit village from Tolkien´s books
  • Bay of Islands – best for fishing, sailing and other water-sports
  • Waiheke Island – for wine lovers
  • Queenstown – adventure city, during winter world-class skiing, bungee jumping, skydiving, jet boating, and river rafting
💾 Stáhnout materiál   ✖ Nahlásit chybu