The European Union – maturitní otázka z angličtiny



Otázka: The European Union

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): Terka



The European Union is an organisation of 27 European states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium. Generally, its purpose is economic integration and common policies.

A family of democratic countries, commited to working together for peace and prosperity.

The European Union delivered stability, peace, prosperity.


The member states of the European Union

Austria Finland Latvia Romania
Belgium France Lithuania Slovakia
Bulgaria Germany Luxembourg Slovenia
Cyprus Greece Malta Spain
The Czech Republic Hungary The Netherlands Sweden
Denmark Ireland Poland The United Kingdom
Estonia Italy Portugal

 +5 candidates (Monte Negro, Turkey,  Croatia, Macedonia, Iceland)

2004- the biggest enlargement ( 10 countries joined the EU)

2013- Croatia will join


Advantages :

-The trade and economy support and protection
-We don´t need a passport when travelling
-Common curency – EURO- we don´t need change money
-Open bords (Shengen area), work opportunities
-Better education
-Better health care
-Increasing turism
-Shopping around and compare prices

-Eurozone (pay with euro) …16 countries


-Economic crises
-Problems with state budgets ( rozpočet) – they are not stable
-New currency
-Dipendence on EU
-National identity and souverenity might be weakened
-Euro is not stable




make up – tvořit                                                         The European Commission- Evropská komise

spokesperson – mluvčí                                                The European Parliament – Evropský parlament

interpretor – tlumočník                                              The Council of the EU – Rada EU

propose – navržení                                                      The Court of Justice – Soudní dvůr

proposal – návrh                                                         commissioners – komisaři

economists – ekonomové                                           a whole – celek

satisfied – spokojený                                                   law – právo, zákon

pass a law – schválit zákon                                          election – volby

agreement – souhlas                                                    citizen – občan

are applied – jsou realizovány                                      vote – volit

complain – stěžovat si                                                 warn – varovat



citizenship – občanství                                                racism- rasismus

overall objective – hlavní cíl                                        xenophobia – strach z lidí

reflect – uvědomit si                                                   joint activities –  spol. aktivity

involve – zahrnout                                                      ethnicity – etnikum

participation – účast                                                    religious background – náboženské zázemí

diversity- rozmanitost                                                 aim- cíl

disabled people – postižení                                          develop – rozvíjet

respect – respekt                                                         intercultural – mezikulturní

inclusion- zahrnutí

fewer – méně



admit – přiznat                                                            insurance – pojištění

goals – cíle                                                                  due to….- vzhledem k …

will face- čelit                                                             growth – roste

remains – zůstat                                                          enlarge – rozšířit

restrictions, regulation – omezení                                newcomer – nový člen

permit – povolení                                                       prosperity – úspěch

exceed – překročit                                                       constitution – ústava

in essence – v podstatě                                                gather – spojit

consular representation- konzulát

conditions- podmínky

sovereign – suverénní


European Communities – Evropská společenství ( before 1992- France, Italy, Germany, Benelux)

The European Economic Community – Evropské hospodářské společenství

The European Coal and Steel Community – ES uhlí a oceli

The European Atomic Energy Community – ES pro atomovou energii




The 12 stars in a circle on a blue background symbolise the ideals of  unity, solidarity and harmony among the peoples of Europe.For the first time the flag was used in 1955 by the Council of Europe after that they encouraged the  European institutions to adopt the flag as well.In 1985,  it was adopted by all EU leaders as the official emblem of the EU.



The melody symbolising the EU comes from the Ninth Symphony composed in 1823 by Ludwig Van Beethoven, when he set music to the „Ode to Joy“, Friedrich von Schiller’s lyrical verse from 1785.The European anthem is not intended to replace the national anthems of the EU countries but rather to celebrate the values they share.In 1985, it was adopted by EU leaders as the official anthem of the European Union.



„United in diversity“, the motto of the European Union, first came into use in 2000.It signifies how Europeans have come together, in the form of the EU, to work for peace and prosperity, while at the same time being enriched by the continent’s many different cultures, traditions and languages.The motto in all official EU languages(23)



Internal EU language,are English and French, with the exception of the European Court of Justice in LuxembourgThe languages of the EU are languages used by people within the member states of the European Union. They include the twenty-three official languages of the European Union.     (Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish,Swedish)


DAY OF EUROPE  9th May (Robert Schuman)

His vision was the creation of a supranational European institution that would manage pooled coal and steel production. A treaty creating such an entity was signed just under a year later and came into force in July 1952.(Schuman’s proposal is considered to be the beginning of what is now the European Union).Europe Day is an opportunity for activities and festivities designed to bring the EU’s institutions closer to the public, and the bloc’s peoples closer to one another.



The euro – used every day by some 332 million

Europeans – is the most tangible proof of cooperation between EU countries.

The euro (€) is the official currency of 17 out of 27 EU member countries. The benefits of the common currency are immediately obvious to anyone travelling abroad or shopping online on websites based in another EU country.When  euro was introduced in January 1999, became the new official currency of 11 Member States

💾 Stáhnout materiál   ✖ Nahlásit chybu