Over the map of Canada – otázka z angličtiny

Proč nejde kopírovat?  💾 Stáhnout materiál  ✖ Nahlásit chybu



Otázka: Over the map of Canada

Jazyk: Angličtina

Přidal(a): Regi




Canada is situated in the northern hemisphere. Canada occupies the northern part of The North America and many islands – for example: Baffin Island, Newfoundland, Vancouver, Prince Edward Island and so on. The capital city is Ottawa, the biggest city is Toronto. Canada‘s area is about 10 mil. Sq km – it is the second largest country in the world. It neighbours with  the USA in the south and with Alaska in the west. Canada is washed by the Pacific ocean in the west, the Artic ocean in the north and the Atlantic ocean in the east. Canada has large mountain areas in the west  – the Rocky Mountains, the Mackenzie Mountains and the Melville Hills. The highest mountain (peak) is Mt. Logan. The country is covered by cold tundra and large forests. The north of the country near the Arctic is a cold tundra. The climate there is very cold, the summers are short. The typical species of canadian´s animals are arctic fox, polar bear, beaver, moose.

The longest river is Mackenzie. It flows from the Rocky Mountains to the Arctic Ocean. Other big rivers are the Yukon, the Columbia and the river St. Lawrence. The biggest lakes are Lake Superior, Huron, Erie, Ontario. Niagara Falls are located between the Lake Ontario and the Lake Erie.



Canada is one of the most cosmopolitan country. There are over 32 milion inhabitants in Canada. English and French are the two official languages of Canada.



Canada is very rich in natural resources such as gold, diamonts, timber, natural gas, oil and next. Canada is member of the North American Free Trade Agreement with the USA and Mexico and also a member of the G – 7 most industrialized countries.

Agriculture is also important. They grow oats, vegetables, fruits, tabacoo, leather.



Canada became a British dominion in 1867. Now it is an independent state and a member of the Brithis Commonwealth of Nations. Since 1965 it has own national flag. The head of the state is the British monarch represented by the Govrnor – General, usually appointed for a 5 year. The leading figure in the political life of the country is the Prime Minister. Canada is divided into 10 provinces and 2 territories. The biggest province is Quebec. Interesting is that the name „Canada“ comes from the original inhabitants. Indians used the word „kanata“ which means „village“.



In 1965, Canada adopted its official, red and white flag, with the centred maple leaf.

There are about thirty national parks in Canada, one of them is Jasper National Park in Alberta. Thousands of tourists visit Canada’s national parks all the year round to admire the scenery or to enjoy walking, climbing, fishing or skiing there.

Další podobné materiály na webu:

💾 Stáhnout materiál   🎓 Online kurzy